Setting up my new iMac & External HDs with LPX?

Forums Film Scoring Production Quality and Technology Setting up my new iMac & External HDs with LPX?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jenny_Leigh_Hodgins Jenny_Leigh_Hodgins 7 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Jenny_Leigh_Hodgins
    Jenny_Leigh_Hodgins
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 8

Hope this is okay to post here.  I know many of you composers are extremely experienced with computer set up, DAWs, library plug-ins and external hard drives, so I’d love your expertise advice on the best setup for me.  First, my techie level is intermediate level. As in I’ve composed on Garageband til I got Logic Pro X this year. I basically know only how to record my tracks via my MIDI Yamaha weighted action piano keyboard (88-keys, I’m a pianist, vocalist), and add LPX tracks from LPX library.  I can make some edits with velocity, volume, cut/split/join/copy/paste, etc. The basics.  Now you know what a NEWBIE I am with technology.

I got an iMac 21″, i7, 16GB (upgradable to 32GB) this week!  I have a Seagate 3TB ext USB port HD.  I used that to backup til now. I’ve selected only what I wanna keep and deleted the rest. I want to use the Seagate HD to save my LPX compositions/files.  Problem is that I’ve somehow partitioned it into two spaces; 2TB and 1TB.  So first Q is: Can I re-join the partitioned areas to make a 3TB HD for all my music files (LPX)?  If not, 2nd Q is: Can I use the 2TB section to save all music compositions (LPX) and the 1TB to eventually run a sample library (which I don’t have a clue how to do yet)?

For backup, I have purchased 2 separate thunderbolt 1TB HDs. I intend to use one for backup of iMac. The other for running a sample library if can’t be done on the 1TB Seagate, or if I make the Seagate a 3TB for audio files only.